This is a Random Album Generator.
One album a day.
From the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.

Femi Kuti

Femi Kuti

1995

Femi Kuti

Album Summary

Femi Kuti is the third album by Nigerian musician Femi Kuti released in 1995. It was released on Motown's Tabu Records label. The album introduced Femi Kuti and afrobeat to an international audience.

Wikipedia

Rating

3.19

Votes

5702

Genres

  • Pop
  • World
Reviews
Like a review? Give it a thumb up to help us display relevant reviews!
View Author
Mon May 10 2021
5

Expected nothing, got everything. Awesome fucking record.

👍
View Author
Mon Nov 08 2021
4

It's not an album you could put on any time, any day. But at the right time this is awesome. For me that was making breakfast on a Sunday morning and this had me bouncing around the kitchen.

👍
View Author
Mon Feb 15 2021
4

hard, if not impossible, to compare his work to his father's. his shadow looms large but this is still worth a listen! fav track: changes

👍
View Author
Tue Feb 23 2021
3

Refreshing album that I’ve always wondered about. It would be beautiful to see him at a festival. Not sure I’d ever choose this album again but I appreciated nonetheless

👍
View Author
Wed Jun 23 2021
4

Think if Earth, Wind and Fire were from Nigeria. A great jazz-funk album all around. Lots of fun, infectious grooves, and top talent to boot. Who knew listening to a sax-led band could be so much fun?

👍
View Author
Tue Aug 10 2021
4

Not generally a world music fan, but the debut album by Femi Kuti is an absolute monster. A tour de force os musicianship, with Femi’s voice and sax playing leading the way. The call and response at the end of “Frustrations” between Femi’s sax and the percussion is a highlight. Loved it all the way through!

👍
View Author
Mon Jan 17 2022
4

At first it just made me want to listen to Fela. But after a bit I really got into it.

👍
View Author
Thu Feb 25 2021
2

Clearly talented but totally not my thing

👍
View Author
Tue Nov 02 2021
2

I liked the Fela Kuti album better by his dad I think. This one was ok but got a bit repetitive

👍
View Author
Tue Mar 30 2021
1

No. Just. No.

👍
View Author
Mon May 03 2021
5

Another 0 to 5-star album.

👍
View Author
Tue Jun 22 2021
5

Sin miedo al éxito.

👍
View Author
Wed Jan 27 2021
5

I thought this was older, but it still was funky as fuck

👍
View Author
Thu Jan 28 2021
5

great album with great sounds. The tunes slap hard. solid 9/10

👍
View Author
Tue May 25 2021
5

Funky, groovy Jazz. Hooks you in with the first couple of beats and doesn't let go!

👍
View Author
Thu Jul 29 2021
5

Gran álbum, aunque no sé si es legit musica 'africana' (etiqueta abarcadora) o como entendemos a veces desde otros polos la música africana. De cualqueir forma, canciones largas, pero nunca aburridas. Bien hechas, amé todo. Mis favoritas: "Nawa" y "Stubbor Problems". 10/10

👍
View Author
Sat Aug 21 2021
5

Very fun album! "Afrobeat" I believe is the correct term. Cool African jazz. Loved it!

👍
View Author
Thu Sep 02 2021
5

This should be good.

👍
View Author
Mon Sep 20 2021
5

🙂 Very very good 🙂

👍
View Author
Tue Oct 26 2021
5

Erg dansbare muziek, leuk met de saxofoon ertussen. Heel hard van genoten

👍
View Author
Wed Nov 17 2021
5

Great, relaxing album

👍
View Author
Sat Dec 18 2021
5

tipo fela kuti?

👍
View Author
Tue Jan 11 2022
5

Afrobeat realness - inject it into my veins

👍
View Author
Tue Jan 18 2022
5

Amazing album and body of work

👍
View Author
Thu Jan 20 2022
5

No expectations and found it very enjoyable. Always enjoyed having a horn section. Ended up listening to a lot of his other stuff. I’m glad I’m listening to these

👍
View Author
Wed Feb 09 2022
5

Great album. What I always imagined afro jazz could be at its best.

👍
View Author
Tue Mar 29 2022
5

Das hat mir ziemlich gut gefallen, ich war auch überrascht wie konsistent das über die lauflänge ist. Aber das hat einfach richtig schön sommerliche vibes und macht brutal gute Laune obwohl die Texte teilweise nen ganz anderen Ton anschlagen. Gerade in einer so volatilen Situation wie Nigeria in den 90ern ist das Album aber total symptomatisch, also bzgl der zeitlichen Distanz zum Bürgerkrieg, anhaltenden ethnischen Konflikten, aber auch Aufbruchsstimmung und Hoffnung für die Zukunft. Genau das findet sich hier alles wieder, also es wird nicht explizit ausgesprochen aber gerade in dem tollen „Frustrations“ kommt dieser Spirit total zur Geltung. Super Album!

👍
View Author
Wed Apr 13 2022
5

9/10

👍
View Author
Mon Apr 18 2022
5

04/18/22

👍
View Author
Tue May 03 2022
5

A great album.

👍
View Author
Wed Jun 15 2022
5

Afrobeat perfection

👍
View Author
Mon Jul 04 2022
5

A great afrobeat, funky, jazzy af album. Great stuff!!

👍
View Author
Mon Jul 11 2022
5

This album is a real fun listen. I love the jazz and big band elements mixed with the Afrobeat

👍
View Author
Wed Jul 13 2022
5

Wow! What a fun album to listen to! Each track was awesome and so different! I’ve never listened to anything like it.

👍
View Author
Wed Jul 20 2022
5

Fun album

👍
View Author
Wed Aug 17 2022
5

So awesome. A lot like his father's music, but more structured and more modern production.

👍
View Author
Thu Sep 08 2022
5

Hooked within first 5 seconds,.didn't let up

👍
View Author
Tue Sep 13 2022
5

bom demais o sonzao

👍
View Author
Fri Oct 28 2022
5

When you're the son of one of the most revolutionary musicians of the second half of the 20th Century, it's best to be aware of the massive sized shoes that would hopefully be filled but Femi Kuti's self-titled does all that and then some. Bringing, and refining, his father's penchant for lengthy jams about societal and personal issues into the 90s (atrocious album cover aside), this over an hour long collection gives the listener an understanding of who Femi is and what he could be capable of, regardless of the knowledge of who preceded him. The songs may be long but the grooves are undeniable and the pedigree beyond worthwhile.

👍
View Author
Mon Oct 17 2022
5

Never heard of this before but I think it's brilliant

👍
View Author
Tue Nov 15 2022
5

Do you like jams? Do you like bitching jams? Do you like bitching afro pop jams? Well...

👍
View Author
Tue Nov 15 2022
5

Always here for Afrobeat. Fela Kuti A+ Femi Kuti A+

👍
View Author
Tue Nov 15 2022
5

terrific

👍
View Author
Mon Oct 17 2022
5

Amazing album with a lot of Soul/Funk/Jazz elements. Great use of the percussion and the album has a good energy!

👍
View Author
Tue Dec 06 2022
5

Nothing else I can say other than this album will exceed every expectation you may or may not have

👍
View Author
Tue Dec 06 2022
5

Not going to lie, this slaps. Fantastic, really fun, amazing

👍
View Author
Tue Dec 13 2022
5

Jaaaaaa daar is ‘ie dan, m’n eerste 5 sterren!!!! Ik had alleen maar durven dromen dat er een afrobeat album tussen zou zitten en wat een banger!! Deze komt in de standaard rotatie

👍
View Author
Fri Dec 23 2022
5

Perfekt für Julian

👍
View Author
Thu May 20 2021
4

Very upbeat and fun! Nice to listen to something different for a change.

👍
View Author
Tue Mar 23 2021
4

Lively and upbeat

👍
View Author
Fri Jan 29 2021
4

только тексты подкачали, иначе была бы пятерочка

👍
View Author
Tue Feb 16 2021
4

Pretty decent. Could hear this being played on a loop at like an outdoor pizza / pop-up bars food quadrant during the Edinburgh festival or something.

👍
View Author
Fri Mar 26 2021
4

New to me. One thing you are not seeing a lot of in the music published for the American market is calls for Aftican unity. I liked this album.

👍
View Author
Tue Feb 16 2021
4

I do like a bit of Afrobeat. I'm more familiar with Femi's father, Fela, but this was great too. Fave track "Plenty Nonsense"

👍
View Author
Tue Jun 22 2021
4

No te vas a arrepentir.

👍
View Author
Mon Apr 19 2021
4

Given how much I loved the Fela Kuti (Femi's father) album on this list, I had high hopes for this one. I certainly wasn't disappointed by this album, but it had a lot to live up to and couldn't quite get there. Make no mistake, Femi Kuti is a very talented artist and Femi Kuti is a very good album, but it didn't make me feel "definitely five stars, yes sir" like Fela Kuti's Live! did.

👍
View Author
Fri Jun 18 2021
4

Very fun African jazz - great listen and surprised there weren't more listens on Spotify. 7/10.

👍
View Author
Fri Mar 19 2021
4

I don't know everything he's saying but he speaking facts

👍
View Author
Fri Mar 26 2021
4

Música africana animada.

👍
View Author
Tue Jun 08 2021
4

Schon mächtiges Zeug dabei. War ich bei Wonder Wonder noch skeptisch, wuchs spätestens bei Frustrations das Grinsen wegen der Rhythmik, der Spielfreude und der ganzen gut eingebundenen Wildheit des Orchesters. Und weil sich das zum Ende hin ja auch eher noch gesteigert hat (wobei: am meisten gekriegt haben sie mich direkt mit Nawa) gibt’s gerne 3,9 Punkte. Oder auch 4,1, je nach Laune.

👍
View Author
Tue Jun 08 2021
4

Yé Yé Yé Yé ! Gut gelaunt und mit virtuosen Einzelplayern innerhalb der ganzen Kombo bläst Kronprinz Kuti selbst die „frustrations of a young man“ positiv geladen in die Welt. Das Album hört sich live eingespielt und dabei extrem harmonisch abgemischt (Drums !!!!) an. Nach der Session muss das Gemeinschaftsgefühl irre stark gewesen sein - ich glaube ihnen jede Note. Eine mit Händen greifbare Qualität, die sich in dieser Bewertung mehr niederschlägt als mein persönlicher Gefallen am Style. 3.6

👍
View Author
Wed Feb 10 2021
4

Splendid stuff. Don't usually go for Afrobeat, but really enjoyable.

👍
View Author
Thu Feb 25 2021
4

Cracking listen. Hadn't heard of this artist before but really enjoyed this album. One of the best so far

👍
View Author
Thu Mar 18 2021
4

Chilled and interesting. I will listen to this again.

👍
View Author
Mon Jul 26 2021
4

Nice album.

👍
View Author
Thu Jul 29 2021
4

Pues chido, chill y la verdad no sé qué tanto más puedo decir. Me es muy ajeno este género, pero no es para nada desagradable al oido. Mood: no lo sé Rick

👍
View Author
Wed Aug 04 2021
4

African Jazz - Good jam sessions. Was not expecting it to be so good since I have never heard of this album before today.

👍
View Author
Tue Aug 17 2021
4

Energetic, pure, afrobeat, from a classic artist. It's not my favorite genre ever, but it holds a special place in my heart.

👍
View Author
Mon Sep 06 2021
4

Solid sound. I enjoyed it

👍
View Author
Sun Oct 10 2021
4

Was pleasantly surprised by this one, for world music it sounded a lot more “European” than I had expected. Hints of ska in the music as well. Was very enjoyable

👍
View Author
Sat Oct 16 2021
4

Not really thing but a very funky thing it was.

👍
View Author
Tue Oct 19 2021
4

The energy never dies. A frantic, funky record. Only one real slow spot, the rest of it has me moving. Favorite track: "Nawa"

👍
View Author
Thu Oct 28 2021
4

Great funky Afrobeat with a pan-African message. Very enjoyable and danceable. The production is very 90s but works well with the music.

👍
View Author
Tue Nov 02 2021
4

Love these long songs, layers of instrumentation and vocals that sustain the energy throughout. Really excellent music. A bit pit off by the homophobia(?) In the final song. 4.5/5

👍
View Author
Mon Nov 08 2021
4

Cool Afrobeat textures and sounds. Rock solid groove. Stubbor Problems is a gem.

👍
View Author
Thu Nov 11 2021
4

Great afropop with a serious political message

👍
View Author
Tue Nov 16 2021
4

Uplifting and funky as hell. Every musician in the backing band is at the top of their game

👍
View Author
Fri Nov 19 2021
4

All the african music we've had on this list has been great, should be more of this stuff and less morrissey and wanky britpop

👍
View Author
Tue Nov 23 2021
4

1. Africa XD 2. Drums and sax and percussion 3. Rhythmic 4. Chilled beats with light jazz taste

👍
View Author
Wed Nov 24 2021
4

Muy bueno

👍
View Author
Mon Dec 06 2021
4

Beautiful.

👍
View Author
Fri Dec 10 2021
4

I've had some Afro-Cuban Jazz on this list so far, this is my first pure African Jazz. I really enjoyed it, this artist is very talented. It had great energy and it definitely makes you want to dance.

👍
View Author
Fri Dec 17 2021
4

A little too long, but it has been a wonderful surprise

👍
View Author
Sun Jan 09 2022
4

3.75

👍
View Author
Wed Jan 12 2022
4

Eso es lo chevere de esta página. Sino ¿como conocer a un representante del Afrobeat? Interesante producción!

👍
View Author
Fri Jan 21 2022
4

Fantastic - a lot of energy. I enjoyed this as much, and perhaps even more than Fela Kuti - though they do sound very similar. Apple doesn't fall far from the tree

👍
View Author
Fri Jan 21 2022
4

I really enjoyed this entire album. It was really great musically and fun to listen to

👍
View Author
Sat Jan 22 2022
4

Never get enough of the rhythm! Love it!

👍
View Author
Tue Feb 01 2022
4

Not really my style but quite good.

👍
View Author
Mon Feb 28 2022
4

African jazz

👍
View Author
Fri Mar 04 2022
4

This was pretty cool -- would listen again to have on in the background in the kitchen or outside or something. Approve!

👍
View Author
Mon Mar 14 2022
4

really great album, very interesting and cool african jazz

👍
View Author
Sun Mar 20 2022
4

Better than awesome. An absolute joy.

👍
View Author
Mon Mar 21 2022
4

Slay i guess!

👍
View Author
Wed Apr 06 2022
4

Very enjoyable continuation of his father's work.

👍
View Author
Wed Apr 13 2022
4

Pretty groovy but all the songs were kinda long and not super engaging. 7/10

👍
View Author
Wed Apr 13 2022
4

8/10. Maybe even worth a 9, I was quite enjoying this

👍
View Author
Thu Apr 14 2022
4

Riktigt bra rytm speciellt efter de två första låtarna

👍
View Author
Sat Apr 16 2022
4

Afrika

👍
View Author
Mon Apr 25 2022
4

I enjoyed this a lot! I wish I knew more about Nigerian politics so I could understand mate of the anger in there. But he's translated much of that anger into a joyous, danceable afrobeat masterpiece!

👍
Load more reviews